Remote OpenStack Vagrant Environment

To coincide with the development of the 3rd Edition of the OpenStack Cloud Computing Cookbook, I decided to move my vagranting from the ever-increasing temperatures of my MBP to a Shuttle capable of spinning up multi-node OpenStack environments in minutes. I’ve found this very useful for convenience and speed, so sharing the small number of steps to help you quickly get up to speed too.

The spec of the Shuttle is:

  • Shuttle XPC SH87R6
  • Intel i5 3.3GHz i5-4590
  • 2 x Crucial 8Gb 1600MHz DDR3 Ballistix Sport
  • 1 x Seagate Desktop SSHD 1000GB 64MB Cache SATA 6 Gb/s 8GB SSD Cache Hybrid HDD

Running on here is Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, along with VirtualBox 4.3 and VMware Workstation 10. I decided to give one of those hybrid HDDs a spin, and can say the performance is pretty damn good for the price. All in all, this is a quiet little workhorse sitting under my desk.

To have this as part of my work environment (read: my MBP), I connect to this using SSH and X11 courtesy of XQuartz. XQuartz, once installed on the Mac, allows me to access my remote GUI on my Shuttle as you’d expect from X11 (ssh -X …). This is useful when running the GUI of VMware Workstation and VirtualBox – as well as giving me a hop into my virtual environment running OpenStack (that exists only within my Shuttle) by allowing me to run remote web browsers that have the necessary network access to my Virtual OpenStack environment.

x11firefox

With this all installed and accessible on my network, I grab the OpenStack Cloud Computing Cookbook scripts (that we’re updating for Juno and the in-progress 3rd Edition) from GitHub and can bring up a multi-node Juno OpenStack environment running in either VirtualBox or VMware Workstation in just over 15 minutes.

Once OpenStack is up and running, I can then run the demo.sh script that we provide to launch 2 networks (one private, one public), with an L3 router providing floating IPs, and an instance that I’m able to access from a shell on my Shuttle. Despite the Shuttle being remote, I can browse the OpenStack Dashboard with no issues, and without VirtualBox or VMware consuming resources on my trusty MBP.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Remote OpenStack Vagrant Environment

  1. […] that we have a multi-node OpenStack environment spun up very easily using Vagrant, we can now take this further by using Vagrant to spin up […]

  2. […] This environment consists of a single Controller, up to 2 Compute hosts running Qemu/KVM, a Network node, a Cinder node, and up to 2 Swift hosts. This environment works hand-in-hand with the recipes in the OpenStack Cloud Computing Cookbook – allowing the reader to follow along and learn from the configurations presented and reference environment. If you’re running the full complement of virtual machines as depicted, I highly recommend at least 16Gb RAM. The environment I use to develop the scripts for the book is details here. […]

Leave a Reply

